top of page

Gotham Awards Honors WIP Members

Awards season kicked off this week with the IFP Gotham Awards and WIP members were honored across the board.

Mollye Asher and Bert Hamelinck accept the Best Picture Award for "The Rider."


The award for Best Feature went to The Rider, produced by WIP Member Mollye Asher. The film was also named one of the top 10 Independent Films by the National Board of Review.

Producers Elizabeth Rao, Krista Parris and Co-Producer Amenya Makuku (all WIP'ers) celebrated Best Feature nominee Madeline's Madeline. Helena Howard, the film's lead actress, was also nominated for Breakthrough Actor. The film will continue to receive accolades this Awards Season as Howard's performance garnered a Best Female Lead nomination at the Independent Spirit Awards and Ashley Connor was nominated for Best Cinematography.

The Madeline's Madeline team on the red carpet at the Gotham Awards.


Jennifer Fox was nominated for the Bingham Ray Breakthrough Director Award for her film The Tale. The film was produced by WIP member Simone Pero. The awards wave continues through January because The Tale was also nominated for Best First Feature, Best First Screenplay and Best Editing Independent Spirit Awards.

Writer, Director Jennifer Fox.

The IFP Gotham Independent Film Awards are the first awards of the season and help to expand the audience for independent film. IFP supports independent filmmaking and connects artists with essential resources throughout the production process. WIP members have and continue to be recognized by IFP programs, including 2018 Made in NY Fellow Adetoro Makinde.

See here for the full list of nominees.

Recent Posts
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
bottom of page